Urban baby blog: Watch out! Not all YouTube ads are age appropriate

NBC Latino

“Screen Time” is a buzz word that parents like to throw around. How much is your child getting? Television is bad for development and all that. Between iPad apps and videos, Adi gets a fair amount. Maybe that makes me a bad mom, but whatever. I know everything she watches and I try to choose educational media for her to consume.

It turns out I didn’t have complete control.

In my eternal quest to have Adi leave me alone long enough for me to cook dinner, I made a YouTube playlist of age-appropriate and very distracting videos. I hit play on the first one, go to the kitchen, and by the time the playlist is finished, I have dinner made. I don’t want to be the kind of parent that just sticks her kid in front of the television, but holy frijole it’s an effective babysitter.

Better living through technology.

Usually…

View original post 428 more words

Leave a Reply

